Bushfire danger period extended

Continuing dry weather conditions have caused the NSW Rural Fire Service (RFS) to extend the statutory Bush Fire Danger Period (BFDP) in the South West Slopes Zone.

This means fire permits are still required in Cootamundra, Harden, Young and Boorowa local government areas.

“The BFDP generally ends on March 31 and some areas in NSW will finish on this date,” said District Manager Andrew Dillon.

“Any person wishing to light a fire within the South West Slopes Zone area continues to require a permit until the end of April,” Mr Dillon said.

“We can still expect days where weather conditions are difficult and may cause burns to get out of control.

“To ensure fire authorities are fully aware of all burning activities, fire permits remain in force.

“The regulations require people to notify neighbouring land owners, land management authorities and fire authorities 24 hours prior to burning.”

“Land owners need to take appropriate action to ensure containment and control of fire so it doesn’t escape and cause damage,” Mr Dillon said.

Permits are free and can be obtained from your local brigade or Fire Control Centre.