Tipperary Golf: Teeing off for the new year

Welcome to our first report for 2017. We trust that you all had a very Merry Christmas and a safe and prosperous new year ahead.

Thursday the 22nd saw a small field tee off in an 18 hole stroke event with Garry McGrath coming in with the best score of 70/56 and runners up awarded to Pat Hewen on 77/54. Craig Hall had two gobbles, Brian Wall two, Pat Hewen one and Jake Searle one and Brian was the only birdie winner.

Tipperary Golf: Happy New Year

Tipperary Golf: Happy New Year

New Years Day was the monthly medal round sponsored by the Criterion Hotel. The "A" grade winner was Jake Searle on 67/52 followed by Craig Hall on 70/52.

"B" Grade winner saw Scott  Bennett coming in on 77/55. Pat Hewen took home the ladies prize with her score of 73/50 followed by Nora styles on 86/56. Pat took out the ladies longest drive and the men’s was won by Casey Wall and Craig Hall won the NTP. Robert Norton was the lucky raffle winner for the day.

Craig Hall and Jake Searle had a birdie each and gobbles to Max Hardman one, Craig Hall one, Casey Wall one and Jake Searle two.This Sunday will see the first round of the club championships for last year. These were deferred due to the wet weather. Here’s hoping the weather will be on our side. Have a good round and enjoy your golf.