Harness Racing

The year has certainly started with a bang for some local owners with harness racing winners at both Goulburn and Temora over the past weekend.

Glenn Wilmot started the winning ball rolling with his wins at Leeton and Temora. 

Michael Prest passed the post first at Parkes and Ian Butt picked up the big prize as an owner at Goulburn on Sunday afternoon.

Veteran trainer Peter Schiller also beat out the rest of the field in his race at Temora making it a total of five individual wins over a seven day period for the locals.

Following a Wagga win last week, Casino Grin ($4.00) made it two in a row for owners Graham Butt and Brett Wilmot in Temora under the guidance of driver Glen Wilmot who drove to the win for the first race on the card.

Chinghi who is another locally trained pacer for Stacy Hardy finished her race second in a tough field and has qualified for the final to be held next week.

Peter and Glenn Schiller handed the driving responsibilities over to Reece Maguire behind Arrived In Time ($6.10) during the following race and were not disappointed with his fierce driving capabilities as he recorded an impressive win and once again qualified the pacer for the forthcoming final.

Glen Wilmot made the most of it and took full advantage of a favourable draw to secure a win for the well bred Tracy Lamb owned New Zealand import Annatto ($2.40) to cap off what can be considered a good night for the locals.

All roads led to Goulburn on Sunday afternoon where supporters once again were not disappointed when Mygirljo – at $7.00 odds –  owned by Ian Butt and trained by David Hewitt bounced back to the winners rostrum continuing on from some excellent runs over the past couple of months.

All trainers and owners are very pleased with their horses’ performance and outcomes from their races over the weekend.

Racing will continue over the forth coming weeks with a two club, four meeting carnival of racing that will carry a big total of $300,000 in prize money at Goulburn and Canberra with Young getting in on the racing action on Tuesday January 17 and Tuesday January 31, 2017.