Young Sports Advisory Committee Awards 2017

On Saturday night the creme de la creme of Young’s sporting stars gathered at the Young Golf Club to be celebrated at the Young Sports Advisory Committee Awards for 2017.

Over a hundred people attended the annual awards night to commemorate sports stars of all ages.

The dinner featured a question and answer session with Young’s own cricketing hero Nathan Lyon who left straight after the dinner to drive to Sydney and fly out for London on Sunday morning.

With teams and individuals recognised for their successes it was a fun night filled with laughter, great food and wonderful company.

Award winners on the night were:

Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Will Martin and Corbyn Bomock.

Intermediate Sportsperson of the Year – Saxon Southwell.

Senior Sportsperson of the Year – Emily Bridge and Einsaleigh Dougherty.

Special Sportsperson of the Year – Tiffany Mason.

Team of the Year – Murringo Public School state touch football team.

All Rounder of the Year – Nicholas Hall.

International Sportsperson of the Year – Dave Webster and Nathan Lyon.

Veterans Sportsperson of the Year – Doug Leabeater.

Continuing Service to Sport – Carol Clark.

Hall of Fame Inductees – Rick Oliver and Lester Sheather.

The night was emceed by David Hamblin who kept the crowd entertained with jabs at his former cricket opponent Nathan Lyon.

The Young Sports Advisory Committee said they were very impressed with the turnout at the awards considering several other functions were held in Young on Saturday night.