Yabbies celebrate big 2017 season | Photos

The Young Yabbies Rugby Union Club celebrated the 2017 season at its presentation night held last Saturday at the services club.

A good crowd of players, parents and supporters attended the function to witness the presentation to the various award winners.

In his opening address, club President Paul Everdell reflected on a season of mixed results that culminated in the Under 16s grand final victory. Everdell also gave special thanks to the many loyal sponsors who continue to contribute to the club’s success.

James Schiller capped a stellar season as he picked up the Under 16s Best and Fairest, Player’s Player and the best Club Prospect award.

Other winners on the night were:

Under 16s 

Clubman – Tom Heilman

Coaches Award – Ethan McEvoy

Under 18s 

Clubman – Tom Turner

Coaches Award – Will Mundy

Best and Fairest – Dan Parker

Players’ Player – Dan Parker

Mr Everdell gave a special award to celebrate Women in Rugby to Lizzie Butt for her outstanding achievements at both the local and the representative levels.

Special award to celebrate Women in Rugby was awarded to Lizzie Butt for her outstanding achievements at both the local and the representative levels.

Cec Finley

Seniors – Second Grade

Best and Fairest – Charlie Bryant

Players’ Player – Julian Roles (absent)

Seniors – First Grade

Best and Fairest – Jack Mullany (absent)

Players’ Player – Brendan Shoard

Most Improved Player – Matt Happer

Most Conscientious Player – Jesh Smith

Supporter of the Year – Roger Mundy

Clubman of the Year – Adrian McMillan

President’s Award – Cec Finley