By-election time

This Saturday October 14 the electorate of Cootamundra will vote in a by-election for the State seat.

The candidates in ballot paper order are:

Phillip Langfield – Christian Democrats Party: From the village of Wattamondara Mr Langfield has been a member of the Christian Democrats for 30 years. He previously contested the 2015 state election where he polled 2.3 percent and in the 2016 Riverina election with a result of 3.2 percent.

Jeffery Passlow – The Greens: Born in Gundagai Mr Passlow now resides in Stockinbingal. 

Matthew Stadtmiller – Shooters, Fishers and Farmers party: From Harden Mr Stadtmiller is the owner and editor of the Twin Town Times, a councillor on the Hilltops Council and was the Deputy Mayor of the former Harden Shire Council.

Jim Saleam – Independent: With a controversial past Mr Saleam will be contesting the seat for the Australia First Party – who are not registered in the NSW elections. Mr Saleam previously stood as the party’s candidate in the 2016 Federal election where he polled 1.2 percent for the seat of Lindsay and 0.7 percent in 2013 for the seat of Cook.

Charlie Sheahan – Country Labor: From Cootamundra Mr Sheahan will be contesting for the NSW seat for the second time, having previously stood as the Labor candidate in 2015. Mr Sheahan was also voted in as a councillor on the newly formed Cootamundra-Gundagai Council back in September.

Stephanie  Cooke – The Nationals: With a business in Cootamundra, Temora and Young the Nationals candidate’s background was originally in marketing, customer relations and branding. Ms Cooke was also the Executive Director of the Baking Industry Association of NSW.

Where to vote

Bendick Murrell Hall – Bendick Murrell Road, Bribbaree Hall – Weedallion Street,  Koorawatha Public School – Crowther Street, Murringo Public School – 91 Murringo Gap Road,  Wombat Soldiers Memorial Hall – Rose Street, Young North Public School – 50 William Street, Young Public School – Bruce Street, Young Town Hall – Boorowa Street.

RESULTS: Don't forget to vote this Saturday October 14.

RESULTS: Don't forget to vote this Saturday October 14.