Ladies' golf presentation

There has once again been plenty of action for the ladies at the Young Golf Club with their presentation day for the year held and the final report for the season.

American Foursomes

Last Saturday an America foursomes event was held with trophies for the day being donated by Hamblins Amcal Pharmacy.

There were 19 players with the winners of the day being Noela Hardman and Mary Haughey on 68 nett. 

Ball comp winners were Noela and Mary (68 nett), Libby Plumley and Pammie McCloy (71 nett) and Larraine Nicolls and Wendy Tuckerman (71.5 nett).

Presentation day

The annual Presidents vs Captain’s day event and presentation lunch was held on Sunday.

There were 27 players with the best score for the front nine being returned by Helen Spencer with 20 pts.

The President’s team was the winner on the day for the first time for some years. Well done to all players.

Following a wonderful luncheon provided by the lady golfers the presentation of trophies for the events conducted throughout the year was held.

Wednesday winners

The winners of the Wednesday events were, in their respective grades:

Scratch: Liz Harding, Noela Hardman and Tilla Davis

Eclectic: Leanne Slater, Betty Stanton and Maria Hanrahan

Birdies: Liz Harding & Leanne Slater (8), Gail Hanigan (3) and Jenelle Connelly (1)

Gobbles: Liz Harding (3), Margaret Kinlyside and Betty Stanton (5), Jenelle Connelly and Lyn Quay (2)

Consistent: Larraine Nicolls

Mid-week match play: Kate Cooper defeated Penny Greaves

Weekend winners

Weekend winners in their respective grades:

Scratch: Helen Spencer, Noela Hardman and Maureen Perkins

Eclectic: Liz Harding, Libby Plumley, Pammie McCloy

Birdies: Liz Harding (17), Suzanne Manning, Libby Plumley, Larraine Nicolls and Sandra Holmes (1) and Pammie McCloy and Jenelle Connelly (1)

Gobbles: Leanne Slater, Suzanne Manning, Pammie McCloy and Lynne Page (3)

Consistency: Libby Plumley

Wirral Cup: Michele Blizzard defeated Tilla Davis

Most reduced handicap: Lynne Page

Annual General Meeting

The annual general meeting was held on Wednesday and following ladies have been elected to Committee: President – Leanne Slater

Vice President – Sandra Holmes

Captain – Liz Harding

Treasurer – Jenelle Connelly

Secretary – Libby Plumley 

Handicapper – Pammie McCloy

Committee – Betty Stanton and Tilla Davis

Final report for the season

As this is the final report for the 2017 golfing season on behalf of the committee thank you to all those lady golfers who have supported this year’s golf with a donation of trophies and when required provision of food for the various events. We look forward to an enjoyable summer competition and the 2018 golfing season.