Total Fire Ban issued for Wednesday

The New South Wales Rural Fire Service has issued a Total Fire Ban for a large part of the state on Wednesday including Young and the South West Slope Zone.

The Total Fire Ban comes into effect at 12am Wednesday morning and covers the areas around Young, Boorowa, Cootamundra, Harden, Gundagai, Tumbarumba and Tumut.

The South West Slopes Zone area fire danger will remain at very high during the next 24 hours.

The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) provides the following advice.

Under Severe and Very High fire conditions:

  • Well prepared homes that are actively defended can provide safety during a fire
  • Follow your Bush Fire Survival Plan and remain vigilant
  • Keep informed by listening to local radio, watching television news broadcasts and monitoring

The NSW Rural Fire Service also warns local farmers and residents they may issue a Harvest Safety Alert for areas of heightened risk. Harvest operators should monitor conditions and regularly check that they are operating within guidelines.

No fires may be lit in the open and all fire permits are suspended during a Total Fire Ban. Gas and electric barbeques may be used provided certain conditions are met. Total Fire Ban rules and a map of current Total Fire Ban areas are listed at