Young Lions Club hold 60th Changeover Dinner

Lions members and special guests were in attendance at the 60th Changeover Dinner held at the S&C Club on Saturday night July 13.

The highlight of the night was the presentation of special awards by President, Dennis Foster.

Phillip Hewson received the Annual award and Lion of the Year was awarded to Toby Bourke for his ongoing commitment to working for Lions.

Lions Citizen of the Year was awarded to Kevin Stemm for volunteering his time to so many organisations.

Service awards for working continually for Lions were presented to Lyn and Stuart Freudenstein, Jenny Tate and Marie Tame (5 years of service); David Tame and Louise McKnight (10 years); Jan Foreman, Geoff Freudenstein, Paul Miller, Garry and Helen Sell (15 years); Eric Baker (20 years); Peter McGlynn and Phillip Hewson (25 years) and Dennis Foster and Michael Price (35 years).

A great effort!

Another highlight of the ceremony was the distribution of donations made by the Lions Club to a number of hard-working local organisations and charities.

Those in attendance received the following amounts:

Young Hospital Auxiliary $9,000

Young Regional School of Music $1,200

Motor Neurone Disease $1,000

Young Historical Society $500

The Men's Shed $1000

SES $500

These donations are part of the overall $28,000 raised by Lions over the past financial year.

A great effort by Lions.

President, Dennis Foster, gave his report for 2018/19 outlining the ongoing commitment by members to raising money for worthy causes.

He mentioned that the Lions Club of Young is hosting the 2020 District Convention with a great committee already committed to making it a success.

At the end of the evening, Marilyn Miller from the Lions Club of Boorowa, announced and inducted the office bearers for 2019/20:

President - Dennis Foster

Secretary - Louise McKnight

Assistant Secretary - Heather Bailey

Treasurer - Jenny Tate

Assistant Treasurer - Claire Goodwin

1st Vice President - Gerry Bailey

2nd Vice President - Paul Miller

Lion Tamer - Phillip Hewson

Bulletin Editor - Marie Tame and Jan Foreman

Tail Twister - Ron May

Membership - Stuart Freudenstein

Safety Officer - David Tame

Publicity Officer - Heather Bailey

To find out more about the Lions Club of Young go to its Facebook page.