2020 Wombatians announced at Australia Day ceremony

Wombat's 2020 junior and senior Wombatians Claire McRae and Elaine Daley. Photo: Peter Guthrie
Wombat's 2020 junior and senior Wombatians Claire McRae and Elaine Daley. Photo: Peter Guthrie

Lifelong Wombat resident Elaine Daley has received Wombat's Citizen of the Year prize.

Following the popular street parade, residents made their way at Wagenbah Oval to celebrate Australia Day.

Junior Citizen of the Year went to Claire McRae, and promising sportspeople Abbey Hall and Cody Hall received youth Sportsperson of the Year awards.

Elaine was recognised for her dedicating much of her life to helping people, in particular students at the Wombat Public School for many years.

She helps Wombat's Rural Fire Service crew and has come to the aid of many people across the district as a Justice of the Peace.

Claire received her award for helping her mother Shelly President, president of the Wombat Progress Committee, in organising various events for the Wombat community.

Abbey, a talented young swimmer, was recognised for making the NSW swimming team, representing Southern Inland and NSW Country, and breaking numerous school records.

Cody received his award for winning three of four boxing bouts last year, while showing great sportsmanship.

Other awards included best kids bikes in the show, and the inaugural Brendon Holmes Memorial Trophy was presented to Best Dressed.

Melanie O'Farrell received the best dressed prize from Mary-Lou Minehan.

"If anyone knew Brendon he was incredibly fun-loving and especially loved this community and was very passionate about giving back to it. I think it's really appropriate we can give out the best dressed award in his memory," Mary-Lou said.

Australia Day ambassador Pierre Issa, founder of Pepe Saya Butter Company presented the awards.

"It's great to be out here at Wombat. I've never seen a tractor pull competition which was fascinating," Mr Issa said.

"Thank you for having me, it's been an absolute pleasure."

Shelly McRae congratulated the award winners and thanked the crowd for attending.

"Congratulations to the award winners and thank you everyone for coming along today," Shelley McRae said.