Jorja to represent women from Regional NSW with win

Jorja O'Brien from Young is one of two women from regional NSW who have won Country to Canberra's prestigious annual Leadership Competition.

Jorja and Elora Guirguis of Wagga Wagga were selected for their exceptional entries on how women and girls can empower each other and their communities in times of change.

Jorja will represent NSW at this year's virtual program, Country to Canberra (C2C) On Screen.

This year, including Jorja there were 15 winners in total.

"The entries this year were of exceptional quality, and many shared stories of the unique hardships and triumphs of rural life during the COVID-19 pandemic," Country to Canberra CEO Han Worsley said.

"Elora and Jorja will get to represent their communities and state, in this once-in-a-lifetime leadership opportunity."

Due to COVID-19 restrictions the usual all expenses paid trip to Canberra to attend the annual Power Trip has been cancelled and instead Jorja and the other 14 winners will take part virtually with the C2C On Screen event.

2021 will be the second year the event has gone virtual with the winners participating in an online program, including a series of events such as leadership workshops, meetings with State and Federal politicians as well as mentorship opportunities.

"C2COS saw an incredibly successful inaugural year in 2020, and we are proud to announce the return of this innovative program," Han said.

According to Jorja, she is very excited for the opportunity to take part in what has been a highly competitive program.

"I am proud to be representing my school, and NSW," Jorja said.

"It's going to be wonderful to be part of this virtual program for young people in regional, rural, and remote Australia."

The other 13 winners selected from the 2021 Leadership Competition were Clara Linn of Mirboo North VIC, Hannah-Leesha Moodley of Mildura VIC, Millie Patterson of Geraldton WA, Aimee Telford of Bunbury WA, Tegan Senar of Auburn SA, Emily Sparrow of Kapunda SA, Maree Adams of Nhulunbuy NT, Heidi Berry of Paredareme Country TAS, Eloise Piper of Ulverstone TAS, Charlize Appleton of Belyando, Charters Towers QLD, Samantha Dendle of Biloela QLD, Lil O'Connor of Toowoomba QLD and Sithmi Konora of Rockhampton QLD.

"In the face of the challenges of the past two years, this program provides opportunity and excitement to our rural and remote winners, and we are thrilled to build on the success of 2020 to deliver a memorable experience," Han said.

C2C On Screen will occur November 22 to 24, 2021.

Jorja O'Brien has won a huge opportunity and will attend a leadership event in November. Photo: Supplied.

Jorja O'Brien has won a huge opportunity and will attend a leadership event in November. Photo: Supplied.