Young Darts Association's Tournament hit a bullseye

ON THE MARK: Last weekend there was a huge turn out for the annual Darts Tournament.

ON THE MARK: Last weekend there was a huge turn out for the annual Darts Tournament.

There was a massive weekend of darts last weekend as the Young Darts Association held their annual Darts Tournament at the Young Services Club.

The tournament had players coming from all over New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory to compete for a slice of the $2,500 in prize money.

The weekend started with social darts on Friday evening with the tougher part of the competition taking off with the singles competition on Saturday and the doubles competition on Sunday.

The Friday night competition had seven pairs for a blind draw double.

Saturday saw 25 players go up against each other in a round robin competition with Jon Pierce from Perth taking out the event.

Pierce or “Taff” as he’s known won the singles against Lenny from Dubbo 5 – 3.

Chris Hogan from Golburn went down to Lenny 4 – 0 in the semi-finals as Taff took out Daryle from Parkes 4 – 0.

There were a couple of local dark horses that came close to taking out the Doubles division on Sunday. With 14 pairs competing on four boards of four it was an impressive feat for the local men.

Patrick Walsh and Paul Rose from all reports played remarkably well, overcoming previous issues to make it all the way to the finals where they were beaten by Mike Bonser and David Hanel.

“A couple of locals made the final and they weren’t our big name players,” Young Darts Association’s Shannon Genge said.

Players came from Narranderra, Albury, Australian Capital Territory, Perth, Dubbo, Gosford, Parkes, Cooma, Wagga Wagga and the locals from Young and Cootamundra.

“There’s been a lot of good feedback from locals about how smooth it all ran,” Genge said.

Young Darts Association will now be focusing on their local Super Singles competition which got off to a flying to start last week.

In A-grade, Anthony Hatch set a high standard by winning all of his 12 legs, with an average of 23.87 and throwing thre 180's in the process. John Laybutt also threw a 180. Greg LEstrange won 9 legs and averaged 22.04. Ian Barrett pegged out using the Bulls Eye and by doing so won himself the $50 cash prize.

In B-grade, CJ Sharky and Brady Lestrange both won 6 legs. Christopher Bliss dusted off his darts after a nine year break from playing and it didn't take him long to find the triple 20 narrowly missing out on the $50 prize. Pat Walsh also played well throwing six 100’s.

In C-grade Erika Gestakovaska is narrowly in front with 5 wins closely followed by a new player to darts - Grady Downey. Rodney Remke and another new player - Tom O'Brien both won 4 legs. Coralie Taprell won herself the $50 cash prize for throwing two consecutive 100’s.