Champions effort

The annual South West Ladies’ Golf Association championship was held at Gundagai last weekend with the players from Young winning major championship events.

ALL THE SILVERWARE: Cheryl Minehan, Leanne Slater and Liz Harding had a huge weekend. Photo: Supplied.

ALL THE SILVERWARE: Cheryl Minehan, Leanne Slater and Liz Harding had a huge weekend. Photo: Supplied.

Liz Harding had her first win in a major championship when she returned a scratch score of 86 on Friday and followed this with a score of 82 on Saturday to win the Open Championship by two shots from Janelle Sullivan of Leeton. In the Closed Championship held in conjunction Liz was the winner from Leanne Slater who returned rounds of 87 and 84. In the daily events and special events Liz also collected trophies for runner-up scratch on Saturday (82), President’s Trophy (nett 72) and the Young team won the scratch event.

Leanne Slater, in addition to the runner-up in the Closed Championship featured in a number of other events including runner-up in the 36 hole handicap event in Division 1 (73 +70), winner first nine on Friday, third 18 hole scratch (84) and winner of the Ryrie Cup team event with players from Tumbarumba.

In Division 3 the 2017 champion was Tilla Davis who returned very consistent rounds of 100 and 101 to record a very convincing win by 11 shots. Tilla also collected trophies for the 18 hole handicap event (71 nett) and 18 hole handicap event (72 nett). Larraine Nicolls also played well and was rewarded when she was presented with the trophies for runner-up 36 hole handicap event in Division 2 (74 + 65), first nine hole handicap on Friday and runner-up 18 hole scratch (93).

On Saturday in Division 1 Kate Cooper had the third best handicap score of 71 nett. The Division 2 first nine hole handicap event was won by Libby Plumley and Penny Greaves was the Division 3 runner-up in the handicap event with a 74 nett. In the Jean Gemmell Memorial event Noela Hardman had a score of plus three to finish in third place. 

On Sunday the players participated in the foursomes championship. Leanne Slater teamed with Cheryl Minehan to be runners-up in the Open Championship with a scratch score of 84. The winning pair of Pip Bleyer and Katrina Ferris had 83. Leanne and Cheryl’s scratch score meant that they were the winners of the Closed Championship with the runners-up Ros Anderson and Wendy Tuckerman on 86.